The ELCON’2020 will be organized on 23-24 October 2020 in Istanbul, under the honorary presidency of Alice Y. Kolb & David A. Kolb. The congress aims to gather leading academicians, policy makers, independent scholars and researchers to share their knowledge, new ideas as well as to discuss future development in experiential learning and education.

An additional goal of the ELCON’2020 is to provide an opportunity for academicians, professionals, non-governmental organisations, researchers, teachers, graduate students and everyone who dedicated themselves to the experiential learning and education to meet and interact with each other. Due to the nature of the congress with its focus on experiential learning, innovative ideas and developments in education, papers related to all those areas are welcomed.



Alice Y. KOLB

President and CEO – Experience Based Learning Systems


David A. KOLB

Chairman – Experience Based Learning Systems



Ilke Evin GENCEL

Professor – Izmir Democracy University



Chairman – DeM Experiential Training Center

Nurettin Konaklı, President

MESVAK Entrepreneur Development Foundation


Mete Kızılkaya – Head of Department

Ministry of National Education Turkey, Life Long Learning DG


Anu Reinsalu

Ministry of Education & Research Estonia, Estonian Youth Work Center


Zeynep Tuğçe Çiftçibaşı Güç

Abdullah Gul University


Dimitrios Gatsidis

ERGON Training, Greece


N. Seda Öztürk, Board Member

DeM Experiential Training Center

M. Volkan Müderrisoğlu, General Coordinator

DeM Experiential Training Center


Yeliz ÇELEN – Coordinator

Ministry of National Education Life Long Learning DG


Kerli Kõiv, Chair

Estonian Open Youth Centers Association


Halit Mirahmetoğlu, Founder

TRC & Spaceagenda


Tuğba Ata Solmaz, Board Member

DeM Experiential Training Center


Zeynep Öztürk, Board Member

DeM Experiential Training Center

Chairs of the Committee

PhD. Alice Y. Kolb, Experience Based Learning Systems, USA

PhD. David Kolb, Experience Based Learning Systems, USA

Committee Members

In Alphabetical Order

PhD. A.Seda Saracaloglu, Adnan Menderes University, Turkey


PhD. Alejandro J. Gallard, Georgia Southern University, USA


PhD. Aleksandra Wach, Adam Mickiewicz University


PhD. Angela M. Lopez-Velasquez, Southern Connecticut State University


PhD. Carol A. Dahir, New York Institute


PhD. Charles J. Russo, University of Dayton


PhD. Çigdem Sahin Taskın, Onsekiz Mart University, Turkey.


PhD. Eda Başak Hancı-Azizoğlu, Indiana University of PA


PhD. Edina Krompàk, University of Applied Sciences and Arts Northwestern Switzerland


PhD. Elena Schmitt, Southern Connecticut State University


PhD. Enrique Mena Garcia, Universtiy of Catolica De Murcia, Spain.


Ed.D. Gregory Barnes, MILPITAS Unified School District


PhD. Ilke Evin Gencel, Izmir Democracy University, Turkey


PhD. Ilze Ivanova, University of Latvia


PhD. Ioannis Agaliotis, University of Macedonia, Greece.


PhD. Iveta Kovalcikova, University of Presov

PhD. J.Antonio Ortiz, Universtiy of Catolica De Murcia, Spain.

PhD. Jerry L. Parker, Southeastern Louisiana University


PhD. Jessica C. Kimmel, University of the Incarnate Word


PhD. Karen A. Lowing, Durham University


EdD. Kathie F. Nunley, New Hampshire, USA


PhD. Kerim Gündogdu, Adnan Menderes University, Turkey


PhD. Lefkothea Kartasidou, University of Macedonia, Greece


PhD. Nevin Özdemir, Ondokuz Mayıs University, Turkey.


PhD. Nilay Bumen, Ege University, Turkey.


PhD. Nuray Senemoglu, Hacettepe University, Turkey


PhD. Nurdan Kavaklı, Izmir Democracy University, Turkey


PhD. Nurhan Yentürk, Istanbul Bilgi University, Turkey


PhD. Olenka Bilash, University of Alberta


PhD. Özgehan Şenyuva, Middle East Technical University, Turkey


PhD. Quintin L. Robinson, Santa Clara University


PhD. Rauf Yıldız, Istanbul Kultur University, Turkey.


PhD. Ruken Akar Vural, Adnan Menderes University, Turkey


PhD. Sezen Arslan, Van Yuzuncu Yıl University, Turkey.


PhD. Yasuhiro Fujiwara, Meijo University, Japan


David A. KOLB

Experience Based Learning Systems - USA

David Kolb is the Chairman of Experience Based Learning Systems (EBLS), an organization that he founded in 1980 to advance research and practice on experiential learning. He received his BA in psychology, philosophy and religion at Knox College and his Ph.D. in Social Psychology from Harvard University. He was a professor of organizational behavior and management at the MIT Sloan School of Management and at the Weatherhead School of Management, Case Western Reserve University where he is currently Emeritus Professor of Organizational Behavior. He is best known for his research on experiential learning and learning styles described in the new Second Edition of Experiential Learning: Experience as the Source of Learning and Development. Other books include, How You Learn Is How You Live: Nine Ways of Learning That Can Transform Your Life, Conversational Learning: An Experiential Approach to Knowledge Creation, Innovation in Professional Education: Steps on a Journey from Teaching to Learning, and Organizational Behavior: An Experiential Approach. In addition he has authored many journal articles and book chapters on experiential learning. David has received several research awards and four honorary degrees recognizing his contributions to experiential learning in higher education.

Key Note Panel

Paper Presentations

Paper Presentations

Experiential Learning in Entrepreneurship

Experiential Learning in Sport

Dialogue for Non Formal Education

Experiential Learning in Corporate Training

Paper Presentations

Paper Presentations

Paper Presentations

Experiential Learning in Higher Education

EU Youth Works and Experiential Learning

Civil-Public Dialogue

Future of Experiential Learning

This website was created and maintained with the financial support of the European Union. Its contents are the sole responsibility of DeM Experiential Training Center and do not necessarily reflect the views of the European Union